Hot Best Seller

The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint

Availability: Ready to download

Eldon Quint is a farmer in the frontier Dakotas. The widowed father of two moves through the world leaving as mild a footprint as possible. His twin brother Clayton Quint is known to most as Jack Foss, a violent outlaw whose visage is prominently displayed on handbills across the American west. When Eldon is mistaken for Clayton one snowy Dakota morning, his son Shane is k Eldon Quint is a farmer in the frontier Dakotas. The widowed father of two moves through the world leaving as mild a footprint as possible. His twin brother Clayton Quint is known to most as Jack Foss, a violent outlaw whose visage is prominently displayed on handbills across the American west. When Eldon is mistaken for Clayton one snowy Dakota morning, his son Shane is killed in the crossfire. Wracked by grief, the quiet farmer has two aims: to bury his son next to his dead wife in Springfield and to get revenge on his outlaw brother.


Compare

Eldon Quint is a farmer in the frontier Dakotas. The widowed father of two moves through the world leaving as mild a footprint as possible. His twin brother Clayton Quint is known to most as Jack Foss, a violent outlaw whose visage is prominently displayed on handbills across the American west. When Eldon is mistaken for Clayton one snowy Dakota morning, his son Shane is k Eldon Quint is a farmer in the frontier Dakotas. The widowed father of two moves through the world leaving as mild a footprint as possible. His twin brother Clayton Quint is known to most as Jack Foss, a violent outlaw whose visage is prominently displayed on handbills across the American west. When Eldon is mistaken for Clayton one snowy Dakota morning, his son Shane is killed in the crossfire. Wracked by grief, the quiet farmer has two aims: to bury his son next to his dead wife in Springfield and to get revenge on his outlaw brother.

48 review for The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint

  1. 5 out of 5

    KarenK2

    I received this from Netgalley.com. "Eldon Quint and his young son must journey to Missouri to bury his recently deceased child, while being pursued by his criminal brother." Good tale, lots of action which kept the story moving forward. It was interesting how identical twin brothers Eldon and Clayton used the contentiousness between them to keep everything out of balance, I liked not knowing for absolute certain which was the good or (lesser good) evil twin. 4.25☆ I received this from Netgalley.com. "Eldon Quint and his young son must journey to Missouri to bury his recently deceased child, while being pursued by his criminal brother." Good tale, lots of action which kept the story moving forward. It was interesting how identical twin brothers Eldon and Clayton used the contentiousness between them to keep everything out of balance, I liked not knowing for absolute certain which was the good or (lesser good) evil twin. 4.25☆

  2. 4 out of 5

    Fran

    The Dakota frontier, 1883. "...the blizzard had swallowed everything-the forest, the river, the men shooting at him...he levered his Winchester...trying to repay the man who'd shot his horse...on foot now...they'd started shooting...five or six, maybe more...[falling] into a ravine...pulled out by a figure...a face he hadn't seen in years, a face just as rough and broken as his own". Eldon Quint, a quiet Farmer and man of few words, had come face to face with his "larger than life" Outlaw twin b The Dakota frontier, 1883. "...the blizzard had swallowed everything-the forest, the river, the men shooting at him...he levered his Winchester...trying to repay the man who'd shot his horse...on foot now...they'd started shooting...five or six, maybe more...[falling] into a ravine...pulled out by a figure...a face he hadn't seen in years, a face just as rough and broken as his own". Eldon Quint, a quiet Farmer and man of few words, had come face to face with his "larger than life" Outlaw twin brother Clayton aka Jack Foss. The Farmer, a widower, was fighting the blinding snowfall to reach his "...pitched-roof cabin of tarred logs and yellowed chinking...", the humble log cabin built atop the old foundation after their clapboard home had burned. Eldon worried about his sons, Shane, eleven and Ian, seven, left all alone. Farmer pointed his Winchester at Outlaw and declared,"You're not bringing this mess near my house". The mess referred to was the Tricky Bender Gang, out to gun down Jack Foss. Mounting Outlaw's horse, riding double, the brothers arrived at Farmer's abode and prepared for the Bender Gang's onslaught. Jack had been a "blight" on Eldon's reputation. "Thirty five years of looking after a brother who did nothing but drag him down, who forced him to return to the frontier to raise a family". A gun battle ensued. "A shot punched [Shane] in the gut, piercing the journal in his jacket pocket...scraps of paper floating down, settling on his chest, like flakes of snow, each piece scribbled with dreams, fears, desires. Fanciful stories about gunslingers and cowboys...". Eldon's thoughts turned back to his sins. "They'd cost him a wife, son, brother". Jack's eyes were "all stirred up by the whiskey". Seven year old Ian asks, "Are you gonna kill Uncle Jack?" At first light, travelling the icy roads, Eldon and seven year old Ian would ride by wagon from Dakota to Springfield to bury eleven year old Shane next to his mother, Hattie. Eldon often sleepless, heard Jack's voice, "Ian's weak...Ye made him weak". A far cry from the tyrannical upbringing encountered by favored first born Eldon and younger twin, Clayton. Ian's kindness was evident. Ask twenty year old, Minn Yancy. "The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint" by Chase Pletts is a work of western historical fiction exploring the interaction between twin brothers Eldon and Clayton, Farmer vs. Outlaw, respectively. Both are flawed individuals. Both ask God for forgiveness. "Is Uncle Jack a bad man? If you do bad things, can you still be good?" What about Eldon? In order to lay Shane to rest "he would return to a world he'd spent the last thirteen years running from". Which brother is which? "...he caught his reflection in the backbar mirror. The beard...the dark clenched eyes, the cold expression. He looked more like Jack Foss than Eldon Quint". Highly recommended. Thank you Inkshares and Net Galley for the ARC in exchange for an honest review.

  3. 4 out of 5

    Zena Ryder

    I can almost believe that the author, Chase Pletts, lived in the American Old West himself! His knowledge of the details of frontier living (and dying) really made the setting come alive. ‘Gritty’ is the standard word that springs to mind, and this novel sure portrays the grittiness of the lawless Old West. You can practically taste the blood and dirt as you read. Pletts chooses his descriptive details well. I felt immersed, without being overwhelmed. His writing is excellent and I would call th I can almost believe that the author, Chase Pletts, lived in the American Old West himself! His knowledge of the details of frontier living (and dying) really made the setting come alive. ‘Gritty’ is the standard word that springs to mind, and this novel sure portrays the grittiness of the lawless Old West. You can practically taste the blood and dirt as you read. Pletts chooses his descriptive details well. I felt immersed, without being overwhelmed. His writing is excellent and I would call this a 'literary Western'. The characters are well-drawn and the story is gripping. When I read in the acknowledgements at the end of the book that the author is a screenwriter, that completely made sense. The novel is very visually evocative. You can see (and smell and hear) the whole thing play out. It’s also beautiful in its own way. The plot is quite complex and I did sometimes wonder if I’d missed something, or if there was a mystery that hadn’t yet become clear. It was often (perhaps always) the latter. I’m not a fan of mysteries so, for me, that detracted slightly from the book. (I don’t like not understanding exactly what’s going on!) But if you enjoy mysteries, that element will add to your enjoyment. Also, the ending is ambiguous, which I personally don't like. But I know lots of readers love ambiguous endings! I vacillated between 4 and 5 stars because of those two things, but in the end decided that I liked everything else enough to give it 5. The subject matter is fairly unrelentingly dark and intense, so be prepared for that. But if you’re in the mood for Old West 'grit' and can handle some violence and tragedy, I recommend this book. The author is unknown and deserves a wider audience. I hope he writes more novels. Many thanks to NetGalley and the publisher, Inkshares, for the advance reader copy in exchange for an honest review. (The book was originally published in 2018, but it looks like it'll be re-published in September 2021. Maybe a different edition?)

  4. 4 out of 5

    Karen

    Fair Disclosure: Usually I shy away from Westerns, but the title The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint intrigued me, so I signed up for the Goodreads giveaway for it and won a copy of it. The Good Points: Author Chase Pletts chose an interesting concept for the subject of the book. Two twin boys are raised by their father who is verbally, emotionally, and physically abusive. Their mother died during childbirth. One of the twins, Eldon, seemingly had grown into a respectable, hard-working, honest farm Fair Disclosure: Usually I shy away from Westerns, but the title The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint intrigued me, so I signed up for the Goodreads giveaway for it and won a copy of it. The Good Points: Author Chase Pletts chose an interesting concept for the subject of the book. Two twin boys are raised by their father who is verbally, emotionally, and physically abusive. Their mother died during childbirth. One of the twins, Eldon, seemingly had grown into a respectable, hard-working, honest farmer who is raising his two sons the best he can after their mother died. The other twin, Clayton, apparently took the opposite path and became a robber and a murderer who is wanted by the law. He goes under the name of the Outlaw Jack Foss. The brothers have not seen each other for many years. One day fate draws them back together. Are Eldon and Clayton truly polar opposites, or do they share more traits of the other? Is Eldon truly good and Clayton truly evil? What makes the difference? They both hide secrets. The author brings his characters to life carefully. The characters are multi-leveled, complex, well-nuanced, and hidden depths come to light as the book progresses. The author is also a wordsmith and paints word portraits throughout the book. The Not-so-good Points: The book contains much violence, blood, and gory descriptions. If it was a movie, it would have a strong R rating for violence. There is a fair amount of foul language which I personally do not appreciate. The Star Rating: I went back and forth on what star rating to give this book. I finally decided on a four because the characters are memorable and will stay with me awhile and because it is in the end a story about family ties, forgiveness, and possible redemption.

  5. 5 out of 5

    Cathy Geha

    The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint by Chase Pletts Dark, gritty, violent story of twin brothers that managed to survive their childhood then moved on to an adulthood that saw one becoming a farmer with a family and the other an outlaw with a bounty on his head. A difficult meeting between the two after thirteen years apart leads them into a situation where survival is questionable for either of them. This story had gunfights, brawls, torture, murder, bounty hunters, people running for their lives, a The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint by Chase Pletts Dark, gritty, violent story of twin brothers that managed to survive their childhood then moved on to an adulthood that saw one becoming a farmer with a family and the other an outlaw with a bounty on his head. A difficult meeting between the two after thirteen years apart leads them into a situation where survival is questionable for either of them. This story had gunfights, brawls, torture, murder, bounty hunters, people running for their lives, a woman with a dream, a young boy who had seen too much, evil men aplenty and two brothers that are more alike than they are different. What I liked: * The real feel of the story * The backstory of the two brothers * Eldon and Clayton: they managed to make it through years of hardship only to face more in this book. In the end their connection was stronger than either may have realized. I also admired their care for Ian and Minn. * Minn: a strong woman that deserved the freedom she sought * The snippets of the past as they were told throughout the book * The way I began to ponder the lives of the men, their actions, how they ended up where they did and why. * That there was so MUCH to contemplate * That I could draw my own conclusions at the end of the story * The author’s note at the end of the book telling what was happening during the time he wrote most of this story. What I did not like: * The despicably evil men that were chasing Minn and the brothers * That there was so much sadness, loss and cruelty more than one experienced Did I enjoy this book? Hard to say “enjoy” but I was definitely drawn in and could not stop reading. Would I read more by this author? Yes Thank you to NetGalley and Inkshares for the ARC – This is my honest review. 5 Stars

  6. 4 out of 5

    Megan

    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here. I absolutely love Westerns and this book was great. A lot of action and plot twists. Eldon Quint lives a simple life as the widower with two sons. Clayton Quint aka Jack Foss is his outlaw brother who brings noting but trouble, death, and destruction to those around him. Including Eldon. The entire book is a battle to figure out which brother is really the outlaw. The only problem I had was the end. Who survives? I hope this ends up as a series. Very good writing and an amazing western storyline I absolutely love Westerns and this book was great. A lot of action and plot twists. Eldon Quint lives a simple life as the widower with two sons. Clayton Quint aka Jack Foss is his outlaw brother who brings noting but trouble, death, and destruction to those around him. Including Eldon. The entire book is a battle to figure out which brother is really the outlaw. The only problem I had was the end. Who survives? I hope this ends up as a series. Very good writing and an amazing western storyline set in the Dakota's.

  7. 4 out of 5

    Becky Spratford

    Review in the July 2021 Issue of Booklist: https://raforall.blogspot.com/2021/07.... Three Words That Describe This Book: evocative setting, flawed characters, compelling A solid Western especially considering it is a debut. Character centered and yet compelling because flashbacks and complex characters and their relationships [twin brothers and a fugitive black woman]. Family secrets, violence, revenge, regret. The twins and the mixed up identity issues adds tension and suspense. One is a farmer Review in the July 2021 Issue of Booklist: https://raforall.blogspot.com/2021/07.... Three Words That Describe This Book: evocative setting, flawed characters, compelling A solid Western especially considering it is a debut. Character centered and yet compelling because flashbacks and complex characters and their relationships [twin brothers and a fugitive black woman]. Family secrets, violence, revenge, regret. The twins and the mixed up identity issues adds tension and suspense. One is a farmer and one is an outlaw but both are a mix of good and bad in the traditional sense. From both povs which keeps it on edge. But also as is the story begins and we have a scale. The farmer brother is higher and the outlaw brother lower but over the course of the novel they balance out. The pull of familial love anchors this story solidly and propels everything. A touching author's note [at the end of the story] reinforces the fact that this love literally is infused in the novel. I was not thrilled with the portrayal of Natives. And it is the villain who treats the Natives the worst, and clearly this is on purpose to darken his character further. Readalikes: News of the World by Jiles, The Outcasts by Kent and True Grit-- all compellingly paced Western featuring flawed characters, revenge and regret, family secrets. All have major female characters too. Not focused on homesteading or herding or actual historical figures.

  8. 5 out of 5

    M.M. DeLuca

    Though Westerns aren't my usual choice of reading, I was quickly drawn in by this beautifully evocative book that conjures up a rich and believable setting populated by well-drawn, original characters. The novel tells the story of farmer, Eldon Quint and his outlaw brother, Clayton, whose chance meeting during a massive blizzard leads to a terrible tragedy and sets off a string of events that will change Eldon and his family's life forever. What follows is a treacherous journey from the Dakota fr Though Westerns aren't my usual choice of reading, I was quickly drawn in by this beautifully evocative book that conjures up a rich and believable setting populated by well-drawn, original characters. The novel tells the story of farmer, Eldon Quint and his outlaw brother, Clayton, whose chance meeting during a massive blizzard leads to a terrible tragedy and sets off a string of events that will change Eldon and his family's life forever. What follows is a treacherous journey from the Dakota frontier, filled with gunfights, bar brawls, raw, gritty violence and a crazy cast of larger-than-life personalities who bring the story alive. Pletts is able to weave past and present together with stories of the brothers' childhood, thus providing valuable insights into their present relationship. Equal parts humour and tragedy, the author's dazzling use of language packs an emotional punch, and the twist at the end will please many readers.

  9. 4 out of 5

    ManOfLaBook.com

    For more reviews and bookish posts please visit: https://www.ManOfLaBook.com or https://www.instagram.com/manoflabook/ The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint by Chase Pletts is a western taking place in the Dakota territories. Mr. Pletts is a screenwriter, this is his first novel. Eldon Quint is a farmer, widower, father of two boys trying to get his life together. But Eldon has a checkered history he’s trying to forget, and give his boys a good home and good life. Eldon’s twin brother, Clayton, goes by t For more reviews and bookish posts please visit: https://www.ManOfLaBook.com or https://www.instagram.com/manoflabook/ The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint by Chase Pletts is a western taking place in the Dakota territories. Mr. Pletts is a screenwriter, this is his first novel. Eldon Quint is a farmer, widower, father of two boys trying to get his life together. But Eldon has a checkered history he’s trying to forget, and give his boys a good home and good life. Eldon’s twin brother, Clayton, goes by the name of Jack Foss, an infamous outlaw of the American west. When Eldon is mistaken for his brother, his son gets killed in the crossfire. Grief stricken Eldon goes on a journey to bury his son next to his wife, hundreds of miles away, and avenge his death. We just came back from the Black Hills of South Dakota on a family road-trip, and then this book showed up. The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint by Chase Pletts tells a good tale of love, revenge, and forgiveness. I haven’t read much in this genre, western historical fiction, however I enjoyed this book very much. This is the American west as I always imagined it, rough, gritty, dirty, unforgiving, tragic, and cruel. One of the things that is difficult to convey is just how rough life was. The sense of grief, loss, profound sadness, and the acceptance of all those things comes through in a very real way. The characters, both Eldon and Clayton Quint are flawed in people. They interaction between the two is one of the things which made the book a good read. I enjoyed reading about their history together, relationship to their father whose ghost always looms nearby, as well as their interactions. One of the side plots involves an orphan who was brought west by the Orphan Train. That this program started so early in our history was something I never realized. The subplot brought a whole new aspect to the story, and allowed the antagonists to also shine. The plot is complex, but not difficult to follow. I enjoyed very much when side characters are introduced, who have an enormous impact on our protagonists, even though they are not in the story for long. We get their histories and importance in drips and drabs, which makes the actions perfectly understandable The excellent depiction of the American west was just icing on the cake of this gripping novel. As a screenwriter, the author shows the reader his story, in a beautiful narrative.

  10. 4 out of 5

    Catharine

    Special thanks to NetGalley and Inkshares for allowing me an advanced copy of this book!! Chase Pletts is an amazing writer, let me start off there. Everything is described to perfection in this book, and done in a way that doesn't halt the story with the usual, "the room looked like this, the person looked like this.." NO! Chase does a wonderful job of adding all the details into the story in a way that seems so fluid, so natural. I thoroughly enjoyed his sentences, his word choices are superb! T Special thanks to NetGalley and Inkshares for allowing me an advanced copy of this book!! Chase Pletts is an amazing writer, let me start off there. Everything is described to perfection in this book, and done in a way that doesn't halt the story with the usual, "the room looked like this, the person looked like this.." NO! Chase does a wonderful job of adding all the details into the story in a way that seems so fluid, so natural. I thoroughly enjoyed his sentences, his word choices are superb! The story itself is truly a page turner. Rich with action and adventure, this story will leave you excited for more and sad when it's over. In fact I ended up reading the last couple chapters over and over to try and figure out the ending (not spoiling it)! The character feel so real, and if someone told me this story was actual a historical document, I would believe them. I love pioneer type historical fiction and this book does it so well. With the two brothers, one "farmer" one "outlaw", there is a lot of back and forth, stories of the past meld with stories of these character's present. If you are a fan of anything 18th century pioneer type historical fiction, or you just want a really good adventure story...this is THE book!

  11. 4 out of 5

    Brandi Pearl Reynolds

    Imaginative, authentic, gritty and well-written, The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint is not the type of book I usually read, but I felt like reading something different. I was not let down. This book is quite realistic, as opposed to the hero-gunfighter-saves-the-damsel-in-distress formula that many other western novels follow. The characters are quite human, with good and bad traits. Overall, I'd rate the book 4.6 and recommend it to those who enjoy the Western and Historical genres that are lookin Imaginative, authentic, gritty and well-written, The Loving Wrath of Eldon Quint is not the type of book I usually read, but I felt like reading something different. I was not let down. This book is quite realistic, as opposed to the hero-gunfighter-saves-the-damsel-in-distress formula that many other western novels follow. The characters are quite human, with good and bad traits. Overall, I'd rate the book 4.6 and recommend it to those who enjoy the Western and Historical genres that are looking for something a bit different. My copy of this book was obtained from a Goodreads giveaway and I appreciate the opportunity to read and review it.

  12. 5 out of 5

    Helen

    Excellent western with such descriptive prose that the reader will feel he/she is back in time enduring the cold frontier. Great ending! The book itself has beautiful, thick pages with gorgeous rough edging and a nice cover that folds in and can be used to mark your place. Very good quality! I won this book in a Goodreads' giveaway and I want to say a big thank-you to the author! The outlaw tried to raise the gun but couldn't, not with his mother and all the other people he'd killed hanging off th Excellent western with such descriptive prose that the reader will feel he/she is back in time enduring the cold frontier. Great ending! The book itself has beautiful, thick pages with gorgeous rough edging and a nice cover that folds in and can be used to mark your place. Very good quality! I won this book in a Goodreads' giveaway and I want to say a big thank-you to the author! The outlaw tried to raise the gun but couldn't, not with his mother and all the other people he'd killed hanging off the barrel.

  13. 5 out of 5

    Paul Klee

    Wow, reads like a song. Many good songs I get a visual movie type experience this doesn't really happen much with books. But here a word or two a phrase here and there perfectly placed and all of a sudden I'm watching the book play out on the big screen. It's was rather intense. Not at all what I was expecting from the description on the book jacket or the industry reviews. This story is alive. Wow, reads like a song. Many good songs I get a visual movie type experience this doesn't really happen much with books. But here a word or two a phrase here and there perfectly placed and all of a sudden I'm watching the book play out on the big screen. It's was rather intense. Not at all what I was expecting from the description on the book jacket or the industry reviews. This story is alive.

  14. 5 out of 5

    Laura

  15. 5 out of 5

    Ashley Sickora

  16. 5 out of 5

    Chase Pletts

  17. 4 out of 5

    Elsie Choi

  18. 4 out of 5

    Matt Harry

  19. 4 out of 5

    Noah Broyles

  20. 5 out of 5

    Susan

  21. 5 out of 5

    Craig Thiel

  22. 5 out of 5

    Tarryn

  23. 4 out of 5

    Nita

  24. 5 out of 5

    Gary

  25. 5 out of 5

    Lynsie Wilson

  26. 5 out of 5

    Historical Fiction

  27. 4 out of 5

    Akasha Fox

  28. 4 out of 5

    Lane

  29. 5 out of 5

    Courtney

  30. 5 out of 5

    Tony Entrekin

  31. 5 out of 5

    Leo

  32. 4 out of 5

    Noah Broyles

  33. 5 out of 5

    Geneviève

  34. 4 out of 5

    Kathryn Redmond

  35. 4 out of 5

    Bethany Hudson

  36. 4 out of 5

    Kyle Kallman

  37. 4 out of 5

    Amber

  38. 4 out of 5

    Therese

  39. 4 out of 5

    Tara Rock

  40. 5 out of 5

    Lisa Cindrich

  41. 5 out of 5

    Micielle

  42. 4 out of 5

    James

  43. 4 out of 5

    Gary Clark

  44. 4 out of 5

    Cathy Tilton

  45. 5 out of 5

    Garrett

  46. 5 out of 5

    Gisell

  47. 4 out of 5

    Deborah Hughes

  48. 4 out of 5

    Judy

Add a review

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Loading...